Return to Smoker Model #2
Sort By::
Page of 6
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
A belated review - Updated 2019 April 27, 2019
Reviewer: Rich S from Tiburon, CA  
My Model 2 is now 7 years old and running great! The stainless is in great shape. I have not replaced any parts - grates, heating element, etc are all fine (although I'm tempting fate with the age of the heating element...). I always foil the wood box, bottom, and drip pan for easier clean-up. I've replaced the cover a couple of times; that's expected. I use an external PID controller which holds +/- 2°F once up to temp (PIDs weren't an option in 2012). Regarding temp control, I LOVE what S.I. is offering with the new PID models. In my opinion, absolutely buy one of the two PID models - it makes a huge difference, and after practicing a bit (keep a journal) you'll be able to hit finishing times pretty accurately. I use mine for turkey, chicken, salmon, ribs and occasionally tenderloins that I finish with a reverse sear on my grill. No issues filling it up either - I've maxed the shelves with ribs, and once did a 16lb spatchcocked turkey plus 2x8lb breasts at once with no issue.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
First Time Smoker April 20, 2019
Reviewer: Todd from tulsa, OK United States  
Got the smoker a few weeks ago...have smoked every weekend since and have the next few weekends planned.

Smoker arrived double-boxed, and looks great. Look forward to many years using this smoker.

I went with the #2 for the size, and after using it already a couple times, I think it was a great decision, the #1 has its uses, but the #2 is just the right size, to prevent having to trim the meat to fit.



Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
First smoke/Smoked Turkey March 24, 2019
Reviewer: Andrew  
Just completed my first smoke with the Model #2, cooked a turkey. The smoke flavor was fantastic! Smoker was pretty much on point with the analog dial and the accessory that allows you to use wood chips instead of blocks is an awesome addition. Even if you don’t use the chips, it allows for extremely easy removal of the remembered from your smoking wood of choice when you are finished cooking. Also, customer service from Smokin-It is top notch! Proud to be a smokin-it owner.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Needs a Circulation fan December 1, 2018
Reviewer: matt krempp from Huntingburg, IN United States  
This smoker is a very quality built piece of equipment. It gets up to temp quickly and holds it fairly well. The problem with this design is that whatever you have on the bottom rack finishes cooking drastically sooner than anything on the top rack. This is to be expected out of this design. If you are only cooking a small amount of meat (one or two butts) this isn’t an issue because you can put it in the same area of the smoker allowing it to finish at similar times. But, if you try to load the smoker for a large cook. You will find that you will struggle to swap racks constantly to help the meat finish at the same time. An addition of a small fan inside the unit would solve this issue In my opinion. Also, if you want to smoke fish,jerky, etc at lower temperatures (150-175; this smoker will not accomplish that due to the fact that the heating element won’t put out enough heat to ignite the wood chunks leaving you with a simple oven and no smoke.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Absolutely Perfect Smoking November 15, 2018
Reviewer: Grady Thomas from Powell, TN United States  
We bought a Smokin-It smoker about 2-1/2 years ago so I have smoked a lot of meat.  It is an absolutely perfect smoker.  We have smoked pork butts, pork ribs,  beef brisket, chicken and a lot of fish.  The results are incredible and stupid simple.  Put a pork butt in my smoker, set the temp at 225 and then leave the door closed until the temp hits 203 deg - "hog heaven."  Even better - fish and shrimp smoked to 145 degrees is absolutely incredible.  I have used a charcoal smoker and a cheaper electric smoker before and there is no comparison. The credit to the Smokin-It smoker and my digital thermometer --in my own mind that is - I would never admit it to my friends and family.  Everyone thinks I am a master chef and genius but its all the smoker and my digital thermometer.  If I had to choose between my gas grill, the oven in my kitchen and my smoker, the smoker would win hands-down - its not even a contest.  It smokes meat that well.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Value, Quality, Performance June 26, 2018
Reviewer: John Baker from Eagle, ID United States  
I purchased the Smokin-it #2 in after doing research on electric & gas smokers.

I was looking for several key features:  Stable in cold weather, portability, best quality and performance.  

I ordered mine on June 16 & received on June 21 - which I considered to be exceptional shipping time especially since the shipping cost was free.  Wow, the packing was exceptional!  Double cardboard shipping boxes with styrofoam padding on all sides - impressive because this stuff isn’t cheap.

Unboxing was simple and the included manual was clear and descriptive.  

Seasoning was simple and the included wood chucks made it an easy event.

The next day I smoked a pork shoulder with apple wood. Great! & so easy.  I am getting ready for my next smoking event this weekend.

I feel that the Smokin-it is a superior product & the company shows their quality mind in the smoker construction, attention to detail, packaging, shipping, customer service, accessories and, parts.  Thanks!





Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Thrilled February 2, 2017
Reviewer: Joshua Hoffman from Richardson, TX United States  
I ordered on a Sat, shipped and received on Wed. Smoker was packaged very well, 2 boxes, foam inside. The box was beat up but the smoker was in perfect shape. The handwritten thanks on the invoice was very much appreciated. I have been very impressed with the way my order was handled from start to finish. If your browsing, buy this smoker! You will not regret it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Its a Beautiful Thing ! July 2, 2016
Reviewer: Jeffrey from east syracuse, NY United States  
Had a gas master built-Junk ! This Smoker is the best ! I'm smoking like a pro! So easy ! Pulled pork, ribs, beef brisket, and chicken so far ! Clean up is so Easy ! Thanks Steve ! I'm a customer for life !


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Almost 3 years, Great Product February 21, 2016
Reviewer: JK from burnsville, MN United States  
Tremendous quality! All stainless!  Will probably last 400yrs!  Considering adding the cart to this investment.  #2 has been a great size for my household.  February in MN and an 8lb pork shoulder smoking right now - can't wait.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Outstanding Smoker January 20, 2016
Reviewer: Big Ron from Oakton, VA United States  
I received a Smokin-It Smoker Model #2 for Christmas and have already used it a dozen times.  This is a very well designed and quality built piece of equipment as evidenced by the heavy gauge stainless steel construction.  The door is a precision metal-to-metal fit eliminating the need for rubber gaskets which will surely deteriorate over time.  The door latches are design to seal the door tightly to eliminate any leakage.

This unit operates as designed.  It is well insulated and held its temperature while being used in 12 degree weather.

Last but not least, customer service is excellent. I have placed several orders for accessories and Steve has been a pleasure to deal with.  I did a lot of research on smokers and the Smokin-It Smoker Model #2 has exceed my expectations


Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items